I got a pink one

Hi all

Just a hello, I received my Pink Ribbons just before Christmas.
Ive had limited time to play on it, but when I did, wow. This is super deep, and that was just playing with the obvious controls before “menu diving” into the layers.

It sounds really cool. I am not a huge buyer of new effects and I tend to loathe the zeitgeist / flavour of the month pedals. I have been playing for over 25 years and been into collecting, building and modifying effects for over 10 years (some of you might recognise me from other forums especially DIY ones). I have a fondness for analog but am not a purist. I look for insipirational sounds. The reason for looking into a Ribbons was because I felt like I wanted more than just a wierd vibrato, wanted something random-er, and wasnt gonna shell out for a Generation Loss (and frankly was turned off a lot by Chase Bliss marketing, strategy and actually how the MK2 works - a lot has been said that I wont repeat)…

Anyway, here I am. I am sure I will be back to post stuff up, and thanks also to the creator for my pesterings via instagram DM. This was a bit of a leap for me as its not cheap device, plus about 30% to get one to the UK in customs, shipping and fees. So far the engineering alone I rate this higher than Chase Bliss pedals (sorry for the shallow comparison, but I feel they do set a bit of a benchmark for the form factor and, recently at least, wierd/niche digital soundscaping effects).

For someone that was both alarmed and enchanted by the 2002 release “Geogaddi” by Boards of Canada, it is amazing to be able recreate some of the sounds of that album (well, probably a lot actually) which was so ahead of its time in a single device. Quite frankly astonishing.

Bravo, thankyou, and cheers

Ian / LaceSensor
Gigahearts_fx

edit - for those that dont get the musical reference - see here

6 Likes

Thanks for posting on the forum Ian! So glad you’re having fun with Ribbons.